Home page Conference / Technical Program
  • Award Ceremony
  • Speakers
  • Panels
  • Social Events
  • Call for Papers
  • Tech. Program Committee

  • Tuesday, August 17, 1999

    8:30 A.M: Opening Ceremonies
    • Introductions - Imrich Chlamtac (University of Texas at Dallas), MobiCom Steering Committee Chair
    • Welcome Remarks - Harel Kodesh (Microsoft), General Chair
    • Program Highlights and Best Student Paper Award - Tomasz Imielinski (Rutgers) and Martha Steenstrup (BBN), Program Committee Co-Chairs.
    • SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contributions Award Ceremony (Award Winner: Mark D. Weiser) - Victor Bahl, SIGMOBILE

    Keynote Speech

    10:00 A.M. - Refreshment Break

    10:30 A.M: Location Management and Service Discovery
    Session Chair: Ram Ramanathan (BBN Technologies)

    • LeZi-Update: An Information-Theoretic Approach to Track Mobile Users in PCS Networks
      Amiya Bhattacharya and Sajal K. Das (University of North Texas, USA) - Best student paper award

    • Analysis of a Metropolitan-Area Wireless Network
      Diane Tang and Mary Baker (Stanford University, USA)

    • An Architecture for a Secure Service Discovery Service
      Steven Czerwinski, Ben Y. Zhao, Todd Hodes, Anthony D. Joseph, and Randy Katz (University of California at Berkeley, USA)

    12:00 A.M. - Conference Luncheon
    1:30 P.M: Mobile Computing
    Session Chair: Nigel Davies (Lancaster University)

    • Supporting CORBA Applications in a Mobile Environment
      Mads Haahr, Raymond Cunningham, and Vinny Cahill (Trinity College, Ireland)

    • Using Code Mobility to Create Ubiquitous and Active Augmented Reality in Mobile Computing
      Kari Kangas and Juha Roning (University of Oulu, Finland)

    • The Anatomy of a Context-Aware Application
      Andy Harter, Andy Hopper, Pete Steggles, Andy Ward, and Paul Webster (AT& T Laboratories - Cambridge)

    3:00 P.M. - Refreshment Break
    3:30 P.M: Panels - Session 1
    Panel A: The Future of Local Area Wireless Networking
    Moderator: Marvin Theimer (Microsoft Research, USA)

    Panel B: Electronic Books
    Moderator: Dan Russell (Xerox, Palo Alto Research Center, USA)

    5:15 P.M. - SIGMOBILE Buisness Meeting - Bell Harbor Conference Center

    Wednesday, August 18, 1999

    8:30 A.M: Handheld Devices
    Session Chair: C-K. Toh (Georgia Institute of Technology)

    • BlueSky: a cordless networking solution for palmtop computers
      Pravin Bhagwat, Chatschik Bisdikian, Ibrahim Korpeoglu, Mahmoud Naghshineh (IBM, Thomas J. Watson Research Center), and Satish Tripathi (University of California at Riverside)

    • Octopus: Embracing the Energy Efficiency of Handheld Multimedia Computers
      Paul J.M. Havinga and Gerard J.M. Smit (University of Twente, Netherlands)

    • Importance of a Battery Pulsed Discharge in Portable Radio Devices
      Carla-Fabiana Chiasserini (Politecnico di Torino, Italy) and Ramesh R. Rao (University of Californi at San Diego, USA)

    10:00 A.M. - Refreshment Break
    10:30 A.M: Power and Error Control
    Session Chair: James Freebersyser (Office of Naval Research)

    • Power Control for Link Quality Protection in Integrated (Packet and Circuit) Services in DS-CDMA Networks
      Deepak Ayyagari (GTE, USA) and Anthony Ephremides (University of Maryland at College Park, USA)

    • Optimality of Bang-Bang Power Control in CDMA Mobile Networks
      Seong-Jun Oh and Kimberly M. Wasserman (University of Michigan, USA)

    • Trace-based Analysis of the GSM Circuit-Switched Data Link
      Reiner Ludwig (Ericsson, Sweden), Almudena Konrad, and Anthony Joseph (University of California at Berkeley, USA)

    12:00 Noon - Conference Luncheon

    Luncheon Speech

    1:30 P.M: Traffic Scheduling
    Session Chair: Kimberly Wasserman (University of Michigan)

    • Reversing the Collision-Avoidance Handshake in Wireless Networks
      J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves and Asimakis Tzamaloukas (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)

    • A Unified Architecture for the Design and Evaluation of Wireless Fair Queueing Algorithms
      Thyagarajan Nandagopal, Songwu Lu, Vaduvur Bharghavan (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

    • Performance Evaluation of PRADOS: A Scheduling Algorithm for Traffic Integration in a Wireless ATM Network
      G. Colombo, B. Cornaglia, L. Lenzini, E. Mingozzi, and R. Santaniello (UniversitÓ di Pisa, Italy)

    3:00 P.M. - Refreshment Break
    3:30 P.M: Panels - Session II
    Panel C: Global Satellite Communication Networks
    Moderator: Satchandi Verma (Satellite Systems Division, Motorola Inc., USA)

    Panel D: Wearable Computing
    Moderator: Chris Schmandt (Principal Research Scientist, Media Lab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

    7:00 P.M. - Conference Dinner Banquet - Seattle Space Needle

    Banquet Speech

    Thursday, August 19, 1999

    8:30 A.M: Data Dissemination
    Session Chair: Andrew Campbell (Columbia University)

    • The Broadcast Storm Problem in a Mobile Ad Hoc Network
      Sze-Yao Ni, Yu-Chee Tseng, Yuh-Shyan Chen, and Jang-Ping Sheu (National Central University, Taiwan)

    • Performance Evaluation of a Wireless Hierarchical Data Dissemination System
      Qinglong Hu (University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong), Wang-Chien Lee (GTE, USA), and Dik Lun Lee (University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)

    • Adaptive Protocols for Information Dissemination in Wireless Sensor Networks
      Joanna Kulik, Wendi Rabiner, and Hari Balakrishnan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)

    10:00 A.M. - Refreshment Break
    10:30 P.M: Routing
    Session Chair: David Johnson (Carnegie Mellon University)

    • Query Localization Techniques for On-demand Routing Protocols in Ad Hoc Networks
      Robert Castaneda and Samir R. Das (University of Texas at San Antonio, USA)

    • Routing Protocols for Mobile Ad-hoc Networks - A Comparative Performance Analysis
      Per Johansson, Tony Larsson, Nicklas Hedman (Ericsson), Bartosz Mielczarek (Chalmers University of Technology), and Mikael Degermark (Lulea University of Technology).

    • Multicast Using Ad-hoc On-Demand Distance Vector Routing
      Elizabeth M. Royer (University of California at Santa Barbara, USA) and Charles E. Perkins (Sun Microsystems, USA)

    12:00 P.M. - Conference Luncheon

    Luncheon Speech

    1:30 P.M: Transport Protocols
    Session Chair: Ramon Caceres (AT&T Labs - Research)

    • Analysis of TCP Performance over Mobile Ad Hoc Networks
      Gavin Holland and Nitin Vaidya (Texas A&M University, USA)

    • WTCP: A Reliable Transport Protocol for Wireless Wide-Area Networks
      Prasun Sinha, Narayanan Venkitaraman, Raghupathy Sivakumar, and Vaduvur Bharghavan (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

    3:00 P.M. - Refreshment Break
    3:30 P.M: Next Century Challenges
    Session Chair: Tomasz Imielinski (Rutgers University)

    • RadioActive Networks: Freedom from the Worst Case Design
      Vanu G. Bose and David J. Wetherall (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)

    • Nexus - An Open Global Infrastructure for Spatial-Aware Applications
      Fritz Hohl, Uwe Kubach, Alexander Leonhardi, Kurt Rothermel and Markus Schwehm (University of Stuttgart, Germany)

    • Data-Centric Networking for Invisible Computing: The Portolan Project
      Michael Esler, Jeffrey Hightower, and Gaetano Borriello (University of Washington, USA)

    • Scalable Coordination in Sensor Networks
      Deborah Estrin, Ramesh Govindan, John Heidemann (USC/Information Sciences Institute, USA)

    • Mobile Networking for "Smart Dust"
      J. M. Kahn, R. H. Katz, K. S. J. Pister (University of California at Berkeley, USA)

    5:00 P.M. - Conference Adjourns