Edward Knightly

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Computer Science

Rice University, USA

BIO: Edward Knightly is the Sheafor-Lindsay Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Computer Science at Rice University. He received his Ph.D. and M.S. from the University of California at Berkeley and his B.S. from Auburn University. He is an ACM Fellow, an IEEE Fellow, and a Sloan Fellow. He received the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance Award for Research on New Opportunities for Dynamic Spectrum Access and the National Science Foundation CAREER Award. He received best paper awards from ACM DroNet, ACM MobiCom, ACM MobiHoc, IEEE Communications and Network Security (CNS), IEEE SECON (twice), and IEEE INFOCOM. He served as general chair or technical chair for ACM MobiHoc, ACM MobiSys, IEEE INFOCOM, and IEEE SECON. He received the George R. Brown School of Engineering Teaching + Research Excellence Award in 2021. He serves as an editor-at-large for IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking and serves on the scientific council of IMDEA Networks in Madrid and the scientific advisory board of INESC TEC in Porto. He served as the Rice ECE department chair from 2014 to 2019.

Mary Baker

Additive, HP Inc., USA

BIO: Mary Baker is an Architect in Computational Design for Additive at HP Inc. in Palo Alto. Her research has covered a broad range of areas including mobile systems and applications, physical affordances for IoT privacy, digital preservation, authentication, and design and workflows for additive manufacturing. Before joining HP she was on the faculty of the computer science department at Stanford University where she led the MosquitoNet and Mobile People Architecture projects and graduated 7 Ph.D. students. She has received a Sloan Foundation Fellowship, an Okawa Foundation Grant, and an NSF CAREER Award. She is an ACM Distinguished Engineer, a Senior Member of the IEEE, a founding member of the editorial board for IEEE Pervasive Computing, and a member of the DARPA Information Science and Technology Study Group.

Ness Shroff

Departments of ECE and CSE

The Ohio State University, USA

BIO: Ness Shroff received the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Columbia University in 1994. He joined Purdue University immediately thereafter as an Assistant Professor. At Purdue, he became Professor of the school of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of CWSA in 2004, a university-wide center on wireless systems and applications. In 2007, he joined the ECE and CSE departments at The Ohio State University, where he holds the Ohio Eminent Scholar Chaired Professorship of Networking and Communications. He holds, or has held, visiting (Chaired) Professor positions at Tsinghua University, Beijing, China; Shanghai Jiaotong University, Shanghai, China; and IIT Bombay, Mumbai, India. He has received numerous best paper awards for his research, and is listed in Thomson Reuters’ on The World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds, and has been noted as a Highly Cited Researcher by Thomson Reuters in 2014 and 2015. He currently serves as the Steering Committee Chair for ACM Mobihoc, and Editor in Chief of the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. In 2014, he received the IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award for seminal contributions to scheduling and resource allocation in wireless networks. He currently serves as the Institute Director of AI-EDGE, a new NSF AI Institute for designing future edge networks and distributed intelligence.

Aruna Balasubramanian (SIGMOBILE Rockstar Award 2021)

Department of Computer Science

Stony Brook University, USA

BIO: Aruna Balasubramanian is an Associate Professor at Stony Brook University. She received her Ph.D from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where her dissertation won the UMass outstanding dissertation award and was the SIGCOMM dissertation award runner up. She works in the area of networked systems. Her current work consists of two threads: (1) significantly improving Quality of Experience of Internet applications, and (2) improving the usability, accessibility, and privacy of mobile systems. She is the recipient of the SIGMOBILE Rockstar award, a Ubicomp best paper award, a VMWare Early Career award, several Google research awards, and the Applied Networking Research Prize. She is passionate about improving the diversity in Computer Science and broadening participation. She leads the diversity committee at Stony Brook and is an active member of the N2Women group.